Jennifer Dorrington Graduate Research Award

Jennifer Dorrington Award will be awarded to one or more graduate students enrolled in a Master’s or Ph.D. program in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine doing research in a lab located in the Donnelly Centre. A list of eligible graduate departments and institutes may be found here. Awards will be provided by the Temerty Faculty of Medicine on the recommendation of the Jennifer Dorrington Award committee. Selection will be based on research excellence.

Award Value:


Application Requirements:

  • Completed and signed PDF icon dorrington-gsef_application_form-2020-2021.pdf (239.36 KB)
  • Curriculum vitae (maximum 2 pages) detailing:   
  • Research project and interests (100 – 250 words)
  • Publications
  • Presentations
  • Awards
  • Research experience
  • Letter of recommendation from faculty supervisor (e-mailed directly to with applicant's name in the subject line)

​Award Conditions:

There are no restrictions with respect to citizenship or year of study. However, the award holder must be registered in the eligible graduate program for at least 14 weeks of any term during which they hold the award. Return of funds will be required if an awardee is registered for less than, or withdraws from the eligible program prior to the minimum 14 week period.

Support is for one academic year and non‐renewable. However, new applications can be submitted to subsequent competitions.

The deadline for applications is 5 p.m. on Tuesday, December 8, 2020.

Forward completed application package to: or 160 College St, Room 230. Include "Jennifer Dorrington Award" in the e-mail title.

Questions about this award may also be sent to:


The award was established in 2006 as a tribute to Dr. Jennifer Dorrington, who was a professor in the Banting and Best Department of Medical Research. Dorrington’s pioneering research greatly advanced our understanding of reproductive biology and ovarian cancer.


Read about 2020 Dorrington Award winners

Read about 2019 Dorrintgon Award winners

Read about 2018 Dorrintgon Award winners

Read about 2017 Dorrintgon Award winners

Read about 2016 Dorrintgon Award winners